September 5, 2022

Nominate an Afterschool Champion

Pennsylvania Statewide Afterschool Youth Development Network (PSAYDN) is accepting nominations for the 2022 Afterschool Champion Awards.

Learn More

Champions should demonstrate outstanding work in developing, supporting, and promoting meaningful high-quality afterschool/out-of-school time programs to benefit children, youth, and families across Pennsylvania.

The winners will be recognized during the PSAYDN EMPOWER 2022 Out-of-School Time Conference on Thursday, December 1, 2022.

Submit a Nomination

Awards and their criteria are as follows:

  • Outstanding Policy and Advocacy Award: Setting actionable advocacy goals, strong policymaker relationships, and educating families and communities about quality afterschool.

  • Outstanding Quality Award: Structure and management, positive connections, safety and health, obesity, safety, activities, life skills, core activities.

  • Outstanding Sustainability Award: Developing intentional partnerships (i.e. business, higher ed., STEM), fundraising/resource development, professional development, policy and procedures-continuity of services.

  • Youth Award: Leadership within a program, mentorship abilities, consistent participation, champion for youth (e.g., resilience, strong peer relationships).

  • Policymaker Award: Familiarity with afterschool/OST/summer learning programs, support through funding, resource help, and community connections.

  • Organization Award: Demonstrate dedication and inspiration for the out-of-school time community and help children and youth succeed. Other criteria to be considered: policy and advocacy, sustainability, quality (structure and management, positive connections, safety and health [obesity, safety], activities [life skills, core activities]) as well as PSAYDN’s Statement of Quality in Afterschool and Vision Statement’s three goals.

Submit a nomination on the PSAYDN website. Nominations are due Monday, September 26, 2022.

More Information

Contact Alison Shughart or Steven Williams with any questions regarding the nominations.