May 18, 2023

State Department of Education Announces 2024 Pennsylvania Teacher Of The Year Finalists

The Pennsylvania Department of Education (PDE) recently announced the names of 12 educators nominated for the 2024 Pennsylvania Teacher of the Year. Area educators are among them.

About the Teacher of the Year Program

The Pennsylvania Teacher of the Year Program recognizes excellence in teaching by honoring K-12 teachers in public education who have made outstanding academic contributions to Pennsylvania’s school-aged children.

The PDE encourages local education agencies (LEAs) to recognize the efforts of teachers in their community who have worked to achieve excellence in the classroom by nominating outstanding educators. Each LEA may nominate one deserving educator from both elementary and secondary levels.

Members of the PDE choose twelve (12) finalists from applicants and recognized in Harrisburg each fall. Pennsylvania’s Teacher of the Year is announced at a state awards ceremony in December, and represents the Commonwealth at various national, regional, and local functions, which culminate in the National Teacher of the Year ceremony at the White House.

2024 Pennsylvania Teacher of the Year Finalists

The finalists for the 2024 Pennsylvania Teacher of the Year are:

Local Finalists

  • Brittney Bell, Carmichaels Area School District (Greene County, PA)
  • Rachel Kalberer, Norwin School District (Westmoreland County, PA)

Other Finalists

  • Anthony Angelini, Conewago Valley School District
  • Jonathan Bickel, Eastern Lebanon School District
  • Ashlie Crosson, Mifflin County School District
  • Benjamin Hoffman, Kutztown Area School District
  • Heather Kilgore, Chester County Intermediate Unit
  • Stephanie Machmer, Jersey Shore Area School District
  • Aspen Mock, Forest Hills School District
  • Justin Ward, Laurel Highlands School District
  • Sharon Williams, Rose Tree Media School District
  • Sally Ann Wojcik, School District of Philadelphia

Learn More

To learn more, visit the official Pennsylvania website.